Scout Badges

Scout Badges

The first badge that a Scout has to earn is their Membership Badge, by knowing their Promise and Law.

There are 61 Activity Badges that a Scout can earn, which allow Scouts to show their progress in existing pursuits, but also to try all kinds of new things and form new interests. Activity badges can also be earned through non-Scouting activities, so if you think that you have achieved any badge requirements, talk to a Leader.

There are also 14 staged activity badges, which can be worked on during your entire time in Scouting, from Beaver all the way through to Explorers! These badges are:


  • Air Activities
  • Community Impact
  • Digital Citizen
  • Digital Maker
  • Emergency Aid
  • Hikes Away
  • Musician
  • Nautical Skills
  • Navigator
  • Nights Away
  • Paddle Sports
  • Sailing
  • Swimmer
  • Time on the Water

There are also 9 Challenge Badges that can be earned by Scouts. They are:

  • Adventure Challenge Award
  • Creative Challenge Award
  • Expedition Challenge Award
  • Outdoor Challenge Award
  • Personal Challenge Award
  • Skills Challenge Award
  • Team Leader Challenge Award
  • Teamwork Challenge Award
  • World Challenge Award

The Chief Scout’s Gold Award is the highest award that a Scout can earn. To get this badge, a Scout must gain all of the first 9 challenge badges listed above as well as some activity badges.

Scout Badges Placement

Scout shirt showing badge placement